Thomas Heywood: Top of the Stops


In this WORLD-FIRST FEATURE-LENGTH PRESENTATION, explore the incredible world of the concert organ in stunning South Australia. Enjoy over two hours with the "acknowledged master", Thomas Heywood, as you are taken on an illustrated tour of the concert organ tradition. This spectacular presentation in full surround sound is a feast for the senses over 6 years in the making and well worth the wait! From wheat to sheep, from vineyards to the Adelaide Oval, you will also see and hear a program of musical delights from Operas, Symphonies, Sonatas, Marches and Concertos. Be dazzled by Thomas Heywood’s "legendary" performances on one of the finest historic musical instruments in the southern hemisphere - the 1929 Grand Organ in St Peter’s Cathedral, Adelaide - the untouched 4-manual "sister" organ to the Grand Concert Organ in the Melbourne Town Hall, originally built by the same organ builders at the same time! In addition to lavish views showing the amazing variety of pipes and the complex workings of the organ behind the facade, see the inner mechanism of the historic 4-manual organ console as never before - the largest example of its kind left anywhere in the world. And much more! Special Features include: Full Surround Sound Watch Thomas Heywood’s “superhuman” feet on the Pedalboard Camera Complete Grand Organ Specification Repertoire Selection Full Program: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, transcribed by W.T. Best Overture to The Magic Flute Antonio Vivaldi, trans. Johann Sebastian Bach Concerto in A minor, Op. 3 No. 8 [Concerto No. 2, BWV 593] Hector Berlioz, trans. W.T. Best Hungarian March "Rakoczy" from The Damnation of Faust, Op. 24 Franz Schubert, trans. J. Stuart Archer Symphony No. 8 - "The Unfinished", D. 759 Sir Edward Elgar, trans. Edwin H. Lemare Military March No. 1 in D from the ’Pomp and Circumstance’ Military Marches, Op. 39 Camille Saint-Saëns, trans. Alexandre Guilmant The Swan from The Carnival of the Animals Alexandre Guilmant Sonata No. 5 in C minor, Op. 80 Johann Sebastian Bach, trans. Thomas Heywood Concerto for Two Violins in D minor (1st mvt), BWV 1043 Four pieces by Edwin H. Lemarei. Concertstück (In the form of a Tarantella), Op. 90ii. Rondo Capriccio (A Study in Accents), Op. 64iii. Canzonetta [in B minor], Op. 70iv. Toccata di Concerto, Op. 59 Antonín Dvorák, trans. Edwin H. Lemare Humoreske, Op. 101 No. 7

Gift Wrapping: Available
SKU: HWD16510
Global Trade Item Number: HWD16510
Shipping: Shipping rate calculated at checkout


There are no reviews for this product yet.
leave a review