Oxford University Press

Johann Sebastian Bach (edited by Anne Marsden Thomas), Oxford Bach Books for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 2


This five-volume graded series of organ music by J.S. Bach provides a wonderful selection of pieces for players of all levels and abilities. It includes the essential pieces from all genres, including chorale preludes, preludes and fugues, toccatas, and trio sonata movements, as well as a variety of lesser known works.

Each volume contains a general introduction drawn from Marsden Thomas’s long experience as a teacher, with advice on registration, fingering and footing, touch and articulation, and ornamentation. There are informative Notes on the Pieces by renowned Bach scholar Professor Russell Stinson, addressing source issues, structure and symbolism, and, for the chorale preludes, information on the original hymn melody and text on which it is based.

Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 533
Prelude and Fugue in C minor, BWV 549
Prelude in E major, BWV 566
Vom Himmel hoch da komm ich her, BWV 606
Lobt Gott, ihr Christen, allzugleich, BWV 609
Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 642
Toccata in D minor, BWV 565
Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 647
Herzlich tut mich verlangen, BWV 727
In dulci jubilo, BWV 729
Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 731
Largo (2nd movement of Sonata No. 2 in C minor), BWV 526
Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 551
Prelude in G major. BWV 568
Wir glauben all an einen Gott, BWV 680
In dir ist Freude, BWV 615
Fugue in G minor, BWV 578
Meine Seele erhebt den Herrn, BWV 733

Difficulty: Moderately Difficult

68 pages, softbound

2014 Oxford University Press


Gift Wrapping: Available
SKU: 978-0-19-338671-6
Shipping: Shipping rate calculated at checkout
Height 9.00
Depth 1.00


There are no reviews for this product yet.
leave a review