Oxford University Press

Johann Sebastian Bach (edited by Anne Marsden Thomas), Oxford Bach Books for Organ: Manuals Only, Book 2


This five-volume graded series of organ music by J.S. Bach provides a wonderful selection of pieces for players of all levels and abilities. It includes the essential pieces from all genres, including chorale preludes, preludes and fugues, toccatas, and trio sonata movements, as well as a variety of lesser known works.

Each volume contains a general introduction drawn from Marsden Thomas’s long experience as a teacher, with advice on registration, fingering and footing, touch and articulation, and ornamentation. There are informative Notes on the Pieces by renowned Bach scholar Professor Russell Stinson, addressing source issues, structure and symbolism, and, for the chorale preludes, information on the original hymn melody and text on which it is based.


Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 695
Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 895
O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig, BWV 1085
Fugue in E flat major, from The Well-Tempered Clavier, book 2, BWV 876
Allegro (1st movement from Concerto in D major, after Vivaldi), BWV 972
Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 713
Fantasia in C major, BWV 570
Concerto in C major, 1st movement (after Johann Ernst, Prince of Sachsen-Weimar), BWV 984
Kyrie, Gott Vater in Ewigkeit, BWV 672
Christe, aller Welt Trost, BWV 673
Kyrie, Gott heiliger Geist, BWV 674
Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, BWV 675
Dies sind die heilgen zehn Gebot, BWV 679
Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 689
Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir, BWV 687
Fugue in G minor, from The Well-Tempered Clavier, book 1, BWV 861
O Gott, du frommer Gott, BWV 767
In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr, BWV 712

Difficulty: Moderately Difficult

63 pages, softbound

2014 Oxford University Press


Gift Wrapping: Available
SKU: 978-0-1933-8674-7
Shipping: Shipping rate calculated at checkout
Height 9.00
Depth 1.00


There are no reviews for this product yet.
leave a review