Oxford University Press

Johann Sebastian Bach (edited by Anne Marsden Thomas), Oxford Bach Books for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 3


This five-volume graded series of organ music by J.S. Bach provides a wonderful selection of pieces for players of all levels and abilities. It includes the essential pieces from all genres, including chorale preludes, preludes and fugues, toccatas, and trio sonata movements, as well as a variety of lesser known works.

Each volume contains a general introduction drawn from Marsden Thomas’s long experience as a teacher, with advice on registration, fingering and footing, touch and articulation, and ornamentation. There are informative Notes on the Pieces by renowned Bach scholar Professor Russell Stinson, addressing source issues, structure and symbolism, and, for the chorale preludes, information on the original hymn melody and text on which it is based.

Komm, Gott Schöpfer, Heiliger Geist, BWV 667
O Mensch, bewein dein Sünde gross, BWV 662
Sonata in E flat major (1st movement), BWV 525
Prelude and Fugue in A major, BWV 536
Prelude and Fugue in G major, BWV 541
Prelude and Fugue in C major, BWV 545
Fugue in B minor after Corelli, BWV 579
Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565
Concerto in A minor after Vivaldi (1st movement), BWV 593
Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659
Valet will ich dir geben, BWV 735

Difficulty: Difficult

74 pages, softbound

2014 Oxford University Press


Gift Wrapping: Available
SKU: 978-0-1933-8672-3
Shipping: Shipping rate calculated at checkout
Height 9.00
Depth 1.00


There are no reviews for this product yet.
leave a review